Salmonid Restoration Federation

Environmental Impacts of Marijuana Cultivation

Oritz, E. 2013. “Pot grow sites’ poisons cited in Fishers’ survival struggle.” Sacramento Bee, 2013 September 8. http://snamp.cnr.berkeley.edu/static/documents/2013/09/09/SacBee_Pot-gro...

Barringer, F. 2013. “Marijuana crops in California threaten forests and wildlife.” New York Times, 20 June 2013. http://www.nytimes.com/2013/06/21/us/marijuana-crops-in-california-threa...

Harkinson, J. 2013. “How industrial pot growers ravage the land: A Google Earth tour.” Mother Jones, 6 February 2013. http://www.motherjones.com/blue-marble/2013/02/google-earth-tour-marijua...

Environ challenges marijuana ag in age of prohibition: http://vimeopro.com/todu/environ-challenges-of-marijuana-ag-in-the-age-o...

Greenson, T. 2012. “Push for pot regulation; amid federal activity, many still support oversight, regulation of pot industry.” The Times Standard, 9 September 2012. http://www.times-standard.com/20120909/push-for-pot-regulation-amid-fede...

Greenson, T. “A ‘huge, huge mess;’ officials talk environmental impacts of marijuana, and the need for more study, clean up.” The Times Standard, 9 September, 2012. http://www.times-standard.com/20120902/a-huge-huge-mess-officials-talk-e...

Gerken, T. 2012 “Cannabis carbon footprint: Marijuana industry’s environmental impact.” Huffington Post, 27 August 2012. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/08/27/cannabis-carbon-footprint-envir...

Greenson, T. 2013. “‘We can’t turn a blind eye anymore;’ feds, local law enforcement promise ‘hot and heavy’ season of pot busts.” The Times Standard, 26 August 2013. http://www.times-standard.com/20120826/we-cant-turn-a-blind-eye-anymore-...

Burns, R. 2012. “Downy calls for backup: Overwhelmed by marijuana the county sheriff looks to the feds for help.” 26 July 2012. http://www.northcoastjournal.com/humboldt/downey-calls-for-backup/Conten...

M. Mallery. 2010. Marijuana national forests: Encroachment on California public lands for cannabis cultivation. Berkeley Undergraduate Journal, Vol. 23, Issue 2. http://escholarship.org/uc/item/7r10t66s#page-1

UC Davis. 2012. “Poisons of public lands put wildlife at risk”.13 July 2012. http://news.ucdavis.edu/search/news_detail.lasso?id=10287

Gabriel, M. W., L. W. Woods, et al. 2012. Anticoagulant rodenticides on our public and community lands: Spatial distribution of exposure and poisoning of a rare forest carnivore. PLoS ONE, Vol. 7, Issue 7, e40163. http://www.iercecology.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/Gabriel_et_al_2012...

Welsh, J. 2011. “Pot growers destroying national forests.” Live Science, 12 December 2011. http://www.livescience.com/17417-marijuana-growers-national-forests.html

“Half-baked idea?: Legalizing marijuana will help the environment.” Scientific American, 20 May 2011. http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/would-legalizing-pot-be-good-f...

Service, S. 2010. “Pot: Not so green afterall.” PBS, Need to Know, 21 May 2010. http://www.pbs.org/wnet/need-to-know/environment/pot-not-so-green-after-...

Caldwell, A. A. and M. Valdes. 2010. “Public lands sprouting marijuana farms.” San Francisco Gate, 14 March 2010. http://www.sfgate.com/news/article/Public-lands-sprouting-marijuana-farm...

“Cannabis farming in California using so much water it could wipe out salmon population, biologists warn.” The Independenct, 5 October 2014. http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/cannabis-farming-in-cal...

Bland, A. 2014. “California’s pot farms could leave salmon runs truly smoked.” NPR, The Salt, 13 January 2014. http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2014/01/08/260788863/californias-pot-fa...

Williams, L., J. Rose, J. Bernard. 2014. “Salmon recovery plan for the Eel River Watershed to examine impact of pot diversions.” Willits News, 3 October 2014. http://www.willitsnews.com/ci_26658615/salmon-recovery-plan-eel-river-wa...